Networking

Steps for Peace

Institute for Peacebuilding Non-Profit Organisation

Networking

Connecting research to practical experience

Steps for Peace is an organisation at the interface between science and practice with the aim of incorporating practical experience from civilian peace work in crisis regions into research. Recent research results are considered in the light of civil actors’ practical involvement in conflict contexts. The development of educational programs that take up current challenges is at an additional interface.

The worldwide movement of refugees presents such a challenge. Steps for Peace connects research results to insights from practical peace work in regions of conflict in order to develop customised educational programs of peacebuilding and the prevention of violence for and with refugees.

Voting for democracy - Introduction for refugees

Apart from acquiring language skills, sociopolitical education is essential for the successful integration in Germany. Current studies on the willingness of refugees to integrate and their understanding of democracy document wide approval for democracy among refugees in Germany. Nevertheless, the meaning of this concept seems to be vague oftentimes. The introduction Voting for democracy takes the elections in Berlin on 18th September 2016 as a starting point for exchange on elections as a democratic instrument with refugees in Berlin.

Promoting dialogue between practice and theory

Creating forums for the exchange of expertise between peace work practitioners, scholars of peace and conflict studies, politics and media supports the promotion of peace.

Since 2012, the Berlin discussion series «Kaleidoscope peacework. Civil society engagement in crisis regions» has been doing just this. These events are a cooperation with the Institute for Foreign Relations / zivik support programme.

Steps for Peace is an organisation at the interface between science and practice and is valued by numerous clients and partners for representing this link. Our consulting services for individuals and civil and government organizations are guided by the work and research interests of Steps for Peace, which are peacebuilding and conflict transformation through civilian actors in crisis regions.

Steps for Peace consulting services

  • We develop policies and methods of violence prevention, termination or aftercare of violent conflicts, and in doing so carefully consider the context of social and political change processes
  • We prepare and deliver expert information for civil society actors in crisis regions
  • We design and carry out participative evaluations of civil society projects and programmes in crisis regions with a focus on their impact on conflict and peace processes

Networking

Steps for Peace

Institut für Peacebuilding gemeinnützige GmbH

Networking

Forschungsergebnisse mit Praxiserfahrungen verknüpfen

Steps for Peace ist eine Organisation an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis  mit dem Ziel, praktische Erfahrungen aus der zivilen Friedensarbeit in Krisenregionen in die Forschung einfließen zu lassen. Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse werden für die Tätigkeit von zivilen Akteuren in Konfliktkontexten praxisnah aufgearbeitet. Eine weitere Schnittstelle ist die Entwicklung von Bildungsangeboten, die aktuelle Herausforderungen berücksichtigen.

Die weltweiten Fluchtbewegungen stellen viele Länder vor solche Herausforderungen. Steps for Peace verknüpft Forschungsergebnisse und Erkenntnisse aus der praktischen Friedensarbeit in Konfliktkontexten, um maßgeschneiderte Bildungsangebote der Friedensförderung und  Gewaltprävention für und mit geflüchteten Menschen zu entwickeln.

Demokratie wählen -Fortbildung für Geflüchtete

Neben dem Spracherwerb ist auch die politische Bildung wichtig für eine gelingende Integration von geflüchteten Menschen in Deutschland. Aktuelle Studien wie diejenige der Hochschule für Medien, Kommunikation und Wirtschaft (HMKW) Berlin zum Demokratieverständnis und der Integrationsbereitschaft von Geflüchteten belegen, dass die Zustimmung für Demokratie hoch ist, es jedoch oftmals an dem Wissen fehlt, den Begriff mit Bedeutung zu füllen. Mit der Fortbildung Demokratie wählen nehmen wir die Berliner Wahlen am 18. September 2016 zum Anlass, mit geflüchteten Menschen in Berlin in einen Austausch über Wahlen als demokratisches Verfahren zu kommen.

Praxis-Theorie-Dialoge fördern

Begleitet wird die Forschungsförderung durch die Bereitstellung von Foren für einen Fachaustausch zwischen PraktikerInnen der Friedensarbeit, WissenschaftlerInnen der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung, Politik und Medien.

Dies geschieht seit 2012 mit der Berliner Gesprächsreihe Kaleidoskop Friedensarbeit: Zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement in Krisenregionen. Diese Veranstaltungen sind eine Kooperation mit dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen/Förderprogramm zivik.

Unsere Beratung fördert den Wissenstransfer in die Praxis

Steps for Peace ist eine Organisation an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis und wird für diese Verknüpfung auch von zahlreichen Auftraggebern und Partnern geschätzt. Unsere Beratungsangebote für Privatpersonen und zivile sowie staatliche Organisationen orientieren sich dabei an den Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkten von Steps for Peace, welche dem Peacebuilding und der Konflikttransformation durch zivile Akteure in Krisenregionen zugeordnet sind.

Mögliche Beratungsleistungen durch Steps for Peace sind:

  • Entwicklung von Maßnahmen und Methoden der Gewaltprävention, der Beendigung oder Nachsorge von Gewaltkonflikten unter Berücksichtigung des Kontextes gesellschaftlicher und politischer Veränderungsprozesse.
  • Aufbereitung und Bereitstellung von Fachinformationen für zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure in Krisenregionen.
  • Partizipativ angelegte Evaluationen von zivilgesellschaftlichen Projekten und Programmen in Krisenregionen mit dem Fokus auf ihre Wirkung in Konflikt- und Friedensprozessen.